Planning and Permits

Planning Services

Central Lake Ontario Conservation (CLOCA) is part of the land use planning system in partnership with local municipalities and the Region of Durham

 

We review land use plans, applications under the Planning Act and supporting technical reports and drawings to provide formal comments that address environmental and public safety considerations.  Specifically, we review: 

  • Official Plans and Zoning By-laws and Amendments

  • Secondary Plans, Subwatershed Plans and Servicing Plans

  • Consents / Land Division

  • Minor variances

  • Site plans

 

We seek to ensure that development issues are addressed through comprehensive and integrated land use planning prior to proposals reaching the development permit stage.  We do this, in part, by providing early and comprehensive input into the municipal planning process and through assisting in the implementation of provincial, regional and local land use plans. 

 

CLOCA offers information and analysis on natural hazards and natural heritage features and systems including:

  • Flood plain management

  • Erosion and slope stability

  • Wetlands

  • Shorelines of lakes, rivers, and streams

  • Ravines, valleys, and stream corridors

  • Natural Heritage Features and Systems

  • Groundwater, Source Water Protection, Hydrologic Features and Areas

  • Fish and fish habitat protection

  • Wildlife, movement and habitat protection

Image of a construction site where a watercourse is being altered
Contact Information

Central Lake Ontario Conservation 

Administration Office

100 Whiting Avenue

Oshawa ON L1H 3T3

 

Email: cciulla@cloca.com

Phone: (905) 579 0411 ext. 154

Fax: (905) 579 0994

 
Planning and Regulations Staff

Chris Jones, Director, Planning and Regulation

(905) 579 0411 ext. 116

cjones@cloca.com

Connie Ciulla, Service, Information and Records Coordinator

(905) 579 0411 ext. 154

cciulla@cloca.com

Lisa-Beth Bulford, Development Planner

(for Ajax, Pickering, Scugog and Whitby)

(905) 579 0411 ext.121

lbulford@cloca.com

Sarem Nejad, Development Planner

(for the Municipality of Clarington)

(905) 579 0411 ext. 145

snejad@cloca.com

Doris Cheng, Development Planner

(for the City of Oshawa)

(905) 579 0411 ext. 145

dcheng@cloca.com

Andrew Fera, Infrastructure Planner and Enforcement Officer

(for the CLOCA Watershed)

(905) 579 0411 ext. 158

afera@cloca.com

John Hetherington, Regulation and Provincial Offences Officer

(for the CLOCA Watershed)

(905) 579 0411 ext. 137

jhetherington@cloca.com